Home > Articles > Other IT Certifications > SSCP

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend Recertification Requirements

Recertification Requirements

Both the CCSP and the CCNP Security certifications are valid for a period of three years. Recertification requires credential holders to pass one of the following exams:

  • Any current 642-XXX exam
  • Current CCIE written exam
  • Current CCIE lab exam
  • Cisco Certified Design Expert (CCDE) written exam
  • CCDE lab exam
  • Pass Architect interview and Architect board review

Because the CCSP is being phased out, Cisco recommends that new credential seekers obtain the CCNP Security and not the CCSP certification. One of the major complaints is that while some CCSP credential holders will be able to migrate to the CCNP Security credential easily, there is no single test or easy migration path for all CCSP credential holders. CCSP credential holders with the right combination of exams under their belts will be the real winners because they’re eligible for both the CCSP and CCNP Security certifications. Unfortunately, some CCSP credential holders may have to take additional exams to earn the CCNP Security credential. If you have questions about the CCSP or CCNP Security migration, consult the information in the Resources section below.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account