Home > Articles > Cisco > CCNA Routing and Switching

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend Where to Go from Here

Where to Go from Here

At one point in the past, Cisco used CCNA Routing and Switching as the prerequisite for many other Cisco certifications. With Cisco’s changes to the CCENT and CCNA Routing and Switching certifications in March, 2013, Cisco completed a migration in which CCENT, and not CCNA Routing and Switching, serves as the minimum prerequisite for some certifications.

When you pass 200-120 exam, you get your CCNA Routing and Switching certification, and you have many options in the Cisco certification world. You can go wide, or you can go deep, with your next step in Cisco certifications.

To go wide, choose another Cisco technology area, and pursue a CCNA certification in that technology concentration. For some of those other CCNA concentrations, your CCNA Routing and Switching certification does not matter; for others, it meets a prerequisite requirement. Regardless, if you have a valid CCNA Routing and Switching certification, you can go for any of the following without delay:

  • CCNA Security
  • CCNA Voice
  • CCNA Wireless
  • CCNA Service Provider Operations
  • Cisco Certified Design Associate (CCDA)
  • CCNA Service Provider
  • CCNA Data Center
  • CCNA Voice

You can also choose to immediately go deeper into routing and switching, without getting another CCNA certification first. The best option to continue with the same topics in CCNA Routing and Switching is to proceed to Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP). Like CCNA Routing and Switching, CCNP focuses on IP routing, LAN switching, but with more depth and breadth of topics. It is a perfect next step for those who want to get deeper in these topics. Other deeper certifications include CCNP SP, and CCNP SP Operations, both of which focus on routing and switching as well, but in service provider environments.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account