Home > Articles > Microsoft

Exam Profile MTA 98-375: HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals

  • Print
  • + Share This
This article profiles the HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals exam (98-375), one of several exams that validate the fundamental knowledge needed to build a career using Microsoft technologies. Pearson IT Certification provides a variety of exam preparation tools to help our customers in their quest for certification. As part of our service to you, we have developed this Exam Profile series. Each profile is developed based on the testing experience of one of our trainers or authors. You won’t get exact questions or answers, but you will get a real feel for the exam. Each profile describes question forms, trouble spots, hints for exam preparation, and recommendations for additional study resources. Find out what you can expect to see on the exam and how you can better prepare for it.

In order to pass the 98-375 exam, you should have solid foundational knowledge of the topics outlined in the preparation guide, including CSS and JavaScript. You should also be familiar with the concepts of and have some hands-on experience with the related technologies either by taking relevant training courses or by working with tutorials and samples available on MSDN and in Microsoft Visual Studio.

When you pass Exam 98-375: HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals, you complete the requirements for the Microsoft Technology Associate: HTML5 Application Development Fundamentals certification.

You will have also earned your Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) Certification.

The Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) is Microsoft’s newest suite of technology certification exams that validate fundamental knowledge needed to begin building a career using Microsoft technologies. The MTA program is targeted primarily at students who attend high schools and two-year colleges. It provides an appropriate entry point to a future career in technology, but does assume that you have some hands-on experience or training but does not assume on-the-job experience.

Many people would like to pursue a career in technology, but lack the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue one of the Technology Specialist or Professional certifications. The MTA certification creates a new entry point to help those who have little practical experience get into the career field. This exam can be the first step towards becoming a Microsoft Technology Specialist (MCTS). The Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) is a new, entry-level certification designed to help individuals take the first step toward a career as an IT professional or developer. Also, when you earn an MTA Certification, you become a member of the Microsoft Certified Professional community. You will get access to members-only benefits such as special offers, the MCP transcript tool, and private newsgroups where you can network, find peer support, and share your accomplishments other certified professionals worldwide.

At this time, MTA is only available to students, faculty, and staff of an accredited academic institution that is an approved MTA testing center. MTA exams are only available at academic institutions that have purchased an MTA Campus License or MTA vouchers. MTA exams are delivered through an internet-based testing platform that allows delivery of exams anytime in any computer connected to the internet at a licensed academic institution. Educators are empowered as exam proctors.

The MTA validates 80% knowledge and 20% skills. The next step in the Microsoft certification path is Microsoft Technology Specialist (MCTS) which requires hands on experience with the Microsoft technology platform. Microsoft makes its complete developer toolset available for students to download and install at no cost through the DreamSpark Program.

Each MTA Certification exam will cover a broad technology area, including:

  • Software Development Fundamentals
  • Server Administration Fundamentals
  • Database Fundamentals
  • .Net Fundamentals
  • Gaming Development Fundamentals
  • Windows Development Fundamentals
  • Database Fundamentals
  • System Administrator Fundamentals
  • Networking Fundamentals
  • Security Fundamentals

In order to earn an MTA Certification, candidates only need to pass one exam. The MTA Certification will expire after five years.

Exam Details

  • Number of Questions: Approximately 30-50 questions (Since Microsoft does not publish this information, the number of exam questions may change without notice.)
  • Type of Questions: This test format is multiple choice.
  • Passing Score: 70
  • This passing score does not mean that you must answer 70 percent of the items correctly in order to pass the exam. The actual percentage varies from exam to exam and may be more or less than 70 percent. There is no penalty for guessing. No points are deducted for incorrect answers. If a question specifies that you must choose multiple correct answers, you must choose the exact number of correct answers specified in the question in order to earn a point for that item. Some of the questions on the exam may not count toward the calculation of your score. Microsoft will often throw a question in that is meant to gather data that will help them improve the exam. If you do not pass the exam in the first attempt, there is not a waiting time before you may retake it. If you do not achieve a passing score the second time, you must wait at least 14 days to retake the test a third time. After that, a 14-day waiting period will be imposed for all subsequent exam retakes. If you have passed the exam, you will not be allowed to take it again.

  • Time Limit: 50 minutes
  • How to Register: Certiport

Trouble Spots

As with any exam, it will vary from person to person as to what is deemed to be difficult. Be sure that you are familiar with the topics listed below as well as the exam objectives.

  • JavaScript is a programming language used to make web pages interactive. It runs on your computer and doesn't require constant downloads from a website. It is used by all major browsers to provide an interactive experience for the user. JavaScript is often used to create polls and quizzes.
  • HTML5 is the newest iteration of Hypertext Markup Language. It isn’t scheduled to be completed and fully standardized until 2014, but the digital industry has been working on the standard for several years. Most desktop web browsers, such as Internet Explorer 9, Mozilla Firefox 6.0, and Google Chrome 13.0.782, already support HTML5. There are many new enhancements in HTML5 that allow it to go beyond text and hyperlinks to including directly embedding graphics and multimedia.
  • CSS is an abbreviation that stands for Cascading Style Sheet. CSS was first developed to allow web developers to define the look and feel of their web pages. It was created so that HTML could perform more of the function that it was originally based to without having to worry about the design and layout. All modern browsers support all of CSS Level 1, most of CSS Level 2, and some aspects of CSS Level 3. For the 98-375 exam, you will have to understand the core CSS concepts, which include: separating presentation from content: create content by using HTML5 and style content by using CSS; managing content flow[md]inline vs. block flow; managing positioning of individual elements[md]float vs. absolute positioning; managing content overflow[md]scrolling, visible, and hidden; basic styling.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account

Related Resources

There are currently no related titles. Please check back later.